As Cell Phone use becomes more prevalent in our everyday lives, it is no wonder traffic laws are being implemented to regulate the safe use of Electronic Devices. Studies show that a majority of people use a Cell Phone or Electronic Device while driving and the number of distracted drivers on the road has increased with our continued reliance on these devices. Whether you’re making your local commute or running commonplace errands, be wary of sending that last text because it could result in a traffic violation and possibly a point on your driving record.
Since distracted drivers first became a concern in California, restrictions on Electronic Device use (while driving) have skyrocketed. According to existing California law, using a wireless Cell Phone while driving that is not “specifically designed and configured to allow hands-free listening and/or talking” is prohibited while operating a motor vehicle. This includes texting, scrolling through social media, checking emails and other uses that can distract drivers. Current law also prohibits Cell Phone or Electronic Device use while driving unless it has “voice-operated and hands-free operation” as part of its key functions. This means even touching or holding your Electronic Device while driving could get you pulled over.
For young drivers (18 years of age or younger), the law is even more restrictive. California Drivers, 18 years of age or younger, are prohibited from using their Cell Phones at any point while driving. This applies even if they’re Cell Phones are equipped with hands-free technology.
Existing law had previously stated that hands-free violations under Vehicle Code Sections 23123 (a) & 23123.5 (a) were exempt from receiving points on your driving record, but that all changed when Assembly Bill-47, was signed into law by Governor Gavin Newson on July 1, 2021. This new law specifies that repeat Electronic Device violations that occur within a 36 month period will now result in points on your Motor Vehicle Record.
It is important to remember that if you get 4 points in one year, 6 points in two years or 8 points in three years your Driver’s License may end up getting suspended or even revoked altogether.
Luckily, we have been in the business of helping people fight traffic tickets for over 25 years. If you’re concerned about your driving record in accordance with the new bill or other traffic tickets, we are always here to help! Contact us today at (310) 455-6810 or submit your information through our website.
Latest posts by Scott Desind (see all)
- How to Request the County Seat and Fight Your California Traffic Ticket - May 21, 2023
- Don’t Even Touch That Cell Phone - July 13, 2022
- Innocent Until Proven Guilty - March 2, 2020